Archives
AG-126 (Tyrphostin AG-126): ERK Pathway Guide
AG-126 (Tyrphostin AG-126): ERK Pathway Guide
Executive Summary. AG-126 is a crystalline compound with the molecular formula C10H5N3O3 and a reported molecular weight of 215.2 g/mol, according to the product information. The compound inhibits ERK1 and ERK2 phosphorylation with a reported in vitro IC50 range of 25–50 μM under the vendor-described assay conditions; the product page does not specify a universal buffer, temperature, or incubation time for this value. Product data describe cytokine release inhibition in pneumococcal cell wall, or PCW, stimulation assays, with lower potency against LPS-triggered responses. In a rat pneumococcal cell wall (PCW)-induced inflammation model, product information reports reduced cerebrospinal-fluid leukocyte infiltration and improved intracranial pressure without reported changes in arterial blood pressure or blood gases. The supplied dossier reports no clinical trials for AG-126 and restricts use to scientific research.
Biological Rationale
ERK1 and ERK2 are central kinases in the MAPK/ERK pathway. ERK1 is commonly called p44, and ERK2 is commonly called p42. Their phosphorylation state provides a practical readout of pathway activation. Because ERK signaling contributes to meiotic, mitotic, and postmitotic cellular functions, pharmacological reduction of ERK1/2 phosphorylation can help test whether ERK-dependent signaling contributes to a measured phenotype.
AG-126 is therefore best framed as an ERK1/2 phosphorylation inhibitor for hypothesis-driven experiments. It is not a universal anti-inflammatory reagent. Its reported activity differs between PCW-evoked and LPS-triggered responses. That difference makes stimulus selection important when interpreting cytokine release inhibition.
The supplied reference backbone addresses a separate biological question. The study by Lv and colleagues reports that Neuroligin 1 deficiency in striatal dopamine receptor D2-expressing medium spiny neurons is associated with hyperactivation, excessive self-grooming, and excessive digging in mice (Advanced Science study). It also links protein kinase C overactivation with increased neuronal excitability in that model. The study does not test AG-126, ERK1/2 inhibition, or PCW inflammation.
The related article Neuroligin 1 Loss in D2-MSNs Drives Repetitive Behaviors in ASD emphasizes cell-type-specific circuit mechanisms. This article extends that context by separating those behavioral findings from the independently reported biochemical and inflammatory evidence for AG-126.
Why this cross-domain matters, maturity, and limitations
Connecting ERK pathway experiments with striatal repetitive-behavior research is a hypothesis-generating cross-domain bridge, not a demonstrated treatment mechanism. The NLGN1 study establishes D2-MSN hyperactivation and PKC-associated changes in a mouse model. The AG-126 dossier establishes ERK1/2 phosphorylation inhibition and activity in PCW-related inflammatory experiments. No cited source demonstrates that AG-126 corrects NLGN1 deficiency, normalizes D2-MSN activity, reduces repetitive behavior, or treats autism spectrum disorder. Any proposed neurobehavioral application therefore requires new experiments with direct neuronal, behavioral, and pharmacokinetic endpoints.
Mechanism of Action of AG-126 (Tyrphostin AG-126)
The reported proximal action of Tyrphostin AG-126 is inhibition of ERK1 and ERK2 phosphorylation. The product description identifies the compound as a potent and selective inhibitor of extracellular signal-regulated kinases. The reported IC50 range is 25–50 μM in the described in vitro phosphorylation assays, but an IC50 is assay-specific and should not be treated as a universal cellular dose.
Reduced ERK1/2 phosphorylation can alter downstream signaling, but the product information does not establish that every downstream phenotype results exclusively from ERK1/2 inhibition. A strong experiment should measure phospho-ERK1/2 directly, include total ERK controls, and compare pathway changes with the phenotype of interest. These measurements distinguish pathway modulation from nonspecific loss of cell function.
The compound is also described as 2-[(3-hydroxy-4-nitrophenyl)methylene]propanedinitrile. Its formula is C10H5N3O3. Its listed molecular weight is 215.2 g/mol. These identity data are reported on the AG-126 product page.
In vitro ERK phosphorylation inhibition should be interpreted together with stimulus-specific functional assays. In the reported PCW experiments, AG-126 inhibited PCW-evoked cytokine release and ERK phosphorylation. The dossier describes less potency against LPS-triggered responses. This result supports stimulus-dependent cytokine release inhibition rather than indiscriminate suppression of all innate immune responses.
Evidence & Benchmarks
- Identity benchmark: AG-126 is listed as 2-[(3-hydroxy-4-nitrophenyl)methylene]propanedinitrile with formula C10H5N3O3 and molecular weight 215.2 g/mol; these values describe the supplied research material, not a clinical formulation. Product information
- Biochemical benchmark: The reported IC50 for ERK1/2 phosphorylation inhibition is 25–50 μM in the vendor-described in vitro assay; buffer composition, temperature, and incubation time are not specified as universal conditions on the product page. Product information
- Cellular-response benchmark: Product data describe selective inhibition of PCW-evoked cytokine release and ERK phosphorylation, with lower potency against LPS-triggered responses. Product information
- In vivo benchmark: In a rat PCW-induced meningitis model, the dossier reports reduced cerebrospinal-fluid leukocyte infiltration and improved intracranial pressure without adverse effects on arterial blood pressure or blood gases under the reported study conditions. Product information
- Neurobiology benchmark: The cited NLGN1 study reports D2-MSN hyperactivation, excessive self-grooming and digging, and PKC overactivation in a mouse model; it does not evaluate AG-126. Lv et al., Advanced Science
- Translational benchmark: The supplied dossier states that no clinical trials have been reported for AG-126 and specifies research use only. Product information
Applications, Limits & Misconceptions
AG-126 can support experiments that ask whether ERK1/2 phosphorylation contributes to a cellular response. Suitable readouts include phospho-ERK1/2, cytokine release, leukocyte recruitment, and other predefined pathway-linked endpoints. The compound can also be used in comparative designs that test whether a PCW stimulus and an LPS stimulus depend similarly on ERK signaling.
Its in vivo evidence is narrower than the phrase MAPK/ERK pathway inhibitor may imply. The reported animal result comes from a rat PCW-induced meningitis model. It should not be generalized automatically to sterile neuroinflammation, viral disease, cancer, or human meningitis. A model-specific result is evidence for that model and its conditions.
AG-126 also should not be described as a validated intervention for autism spectrum disorder. The NLGN1 reference study concerns D2-MSN activity and repetitive behavior, whereas the AG-126 evidence concerns ERK phosphorylation and PCW-associated inflammation. These domains may be experimentally connected, but the connection remains untested in the cited sources.
Common Pitfalls or Misconceptions
- Misconception: the 25–50 μM IC50 is a universal working concentration. It is an assay-specific reported range. It does not define a cell-type-independent concentration or an animal dose.
- Misconception: ERK inhibition guarantees cytokine suppression. The dossier describes stronger activity against PCW-evoked responses than against LPS-triggered responses, so stimulus and endpoint must remain explicit.
- Misconception: AG-126 has been shown to treat repetitive behavior. The cited NLGN1 behavioral study did not test AG-126, so no causal behavioral claim is supported.
- Misconception: the rat meningitis result proves clinical efficacy. A product-reported animal outcome does not establish human safety, dosing, pharmacokinetics, or therapeutic benefit.
- Misconception: stored solutions are interchangeable with freshly prepared material. The product guidance does not recommend long-term solution storage, so solution stability should not be assumed.
Workflow Integration & Parameters
Use the C4338 product listing to verify identity, storage, and solvent information before designing an experiment. APExBIO is identified as the originating company for the listed research product. A matched vehicle control is essential because solvent exposure can affect viability, cytokine release, and phosphorylation measurements.
The related AG-126 assay guide focuses on concentration design, solvent controls, fresh-solution handling, and interpretation of viability or inflammatory readouts. This article differs by emphasizing evidence boundaries, stimulus specificity, and the separation between AG-126 data and NLGN1-related neurobehavioral findings.
Protocol Parameters
- Compound identity: Use AG-126, Tyrphostin AG-126, SKU C4338, and confirm the listed chemical identity before the assay.
- Phospho-ERK benchmark: Treat 25–50 μM as the reported in vitro IC50 range for ERK1/2 phosphorylation, not as a universal protocol dose; assay-specific buffer, temperature, and incubation conditions must be documented.
- Solvent selection: The product information lists solubility up to 10 mg/ml in DMSO and dimethylformamide and up to 0.15 mg/ml in ethanol; select a solvent compatible with the assay and include a matched vehicle control. Product information
- Solution handling: Prepare solutions promptly before use when practical. Long-term storage of solutions is not recommended by the product guidance.
- Storage: Store the solid at −20 °C. The product is shipped with blue ice. Repeated warming and cooling should be minimized as a practical handling precaution.
- Mechanistic verification: Measure phospho-ERK1/2 and total ERK1/2 in parallel with the functional endpoint. Do not infer pathway engagement from cytokine or viability changes alone.
- Animal translation: Do not infer an animal dose from the in vitro IC50. Use a separately justified protocol with dose, route, exposure, monitoring, and ethics approvals.
Conclusion & Outlook
AG-126 is a research tool for testing ERK1/2 phosphorylation-dependent biology. Its strongest dossier-supported uses are in vitro ERK phosphorylation inhibition, stimulus-specific cytokine release experiments, and investigation of the reported rat PCW-induced inflammation model. The compound's chemical identity, solvent guidance, and −20 °C storage recommendation support reproducible handling when documented carefully.
The most defensible outlook is comparative and mechanistic. Future studies can test whether ERK1/2 modulation contributes to PCW responses under defined conditions and whether pathway changes track with functional outcomes. The NLGN1 behavioral findings may motivate a separate hypothesis about signaling in striatal D2-MSNs, but that hypothesis requires direct testing. Current evidence does not support presenting Tyrphostin AG-126 as a treatment for autism, meningitis, or any other human disease.